12 Angry Men (1957)

Story of how a dissenting juror, gradually and tactfully, convinces the rest that the case might not be actually open and shut.

Director: Sidney Lumet12 Angry Men

Writers: Reginald Rose

Actors: Henry Fonda, Lee J. Cobb, Martin Balsam

Genre: Drama, Mystery

Language: English

Country: US

Release Date: April 1957

Runtime: 96 min

IMDb Rating: 8.9/10

My Rating: 9/10

A 12-man jury has to decide the fate of an eighteen-year old boy, accused of his father’s murder. With every evidence and witness against him, the jury starts with a vote of 11:1 in the favour of ‘guilty’.

The defendant, referred to as The Kid, has everything against him – the murder weapon, the witnesses, the public prosecutor, his alibi and even his ethnicity and upbringing. If found guilty, execution is a mandatory punishment. The film follows how every juror proves his stand on the issue and it is a very compelling drama.

I won’t give away any spoilers. Henry Fonda is indeed a wonderful actor, but I really like the story and depth of Lee J. Cobb’s character.

It is an amazing movie and currently is my third favourite after The Shawshank Redemption and The Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, followed by V for Vendetta and 500 Days of Summer.

How did I know about this movie?¬†One of my friends has been pestering me to watch this one for as long as I can remember. Why don’t I follow these people’s advices earlier?

Check out a fan-made trailer here:

Have you seen this movie? How did you like it? Let me know in the comments section.

And yeah, what should I watch next?

Gargi

One thought on “12 Angry Men (1957)

  1. Pingback: 12 Angry Men (1957) | Ever a Shadow

Leave a Reply

